Escape From The Norm

The other day I found myself in an escape room, locked in with four strangers, and tasked with escaping.

Which – aside from the strangers part – is everything I love in one handy package.

The five of us had been pulled together after responding to an advertisement for Games Masters to help run the room with a view to increasing bookings and opening times. And it was brilliant. It was genuinely one of the most fun experiences I’ve had. For starters, the room was excellent, the puzzles were challenging and we were kept busy throughout the whole thing.

And the main thing is that we escaped. Which, for me, is vitally important because I went in there with a winning streak and couldn’t face to lose it.

The application for an escape room job, though, is something that I wanted to do. It’s hard to explain why, but when you’re riding off the back of two years in which your dad dies, your existing job (and safety net) is whipped away from you and then your mum has a stroke, you have to sort of reassess things.

I’ve said it before – several times, in fact – on this blog, that life is too short and opportunities should be grabbed. But I’ve never made good on those words. I’ve gone at it with the best of intentions but I’ve never pulled it off – rather than get on the tightrope, I chose to spend my time sitting in the net underneath. Safe, content and not that far off the floor.

Now, though, it’s things like that that are leaping out at me. Why shouldn’t I apply for a job like a Games Master at an escape room? My CV doesn’t show that side of me. Sure, it mentions the things I like to do as hobbies, but the jobs I’ve had don’t paint that picture. I am an enigma tied up in a riddle. My experience lies in office-based admin, but my heart lies in games and fun and interaction.

So, epiphany firmly in hand, this time I am following my heart.

Wherever that may lead!

